I'm out there…

Egomaniac with an inferiority complex

I’m not going to tell you my name because I don’t want to lose my job. That should be obvious. But everything else you read here is fact: the work shit and the personal shit. If you’re in advertising you know I’m telling the truth. With the other stuff, I’m basically telling on myself: the good, the bad and the ugly. I’m not sure why but it feels good. And since I’m an addict I’ll keep on doing it, even if it isn’t safe.

HR sent several agency-wide notes regarding the company’s policy on social media. I won’t go in to the particulars but it can be summed up as follows: if you wouldn’t say it to your grandmother then don’t say it online. Fuck that noise. Needless to say, I’m in direct violation.

Management is afraid of blogs like this. They’re even more frightened by the nasty trade bloggers, especially Agency Spy and Adscam. Before the Chicago Sun Times fired their marketing columnist they were obsessed with him, too. God forbid anyone writes something bad about our agency, which of course they all do, all the fucking time. If we’re not the most picked on agency in Chicago we’re right up there. I’d say we deserve half our beatings, be it about the work or some dip shit we hired or fired.

Like an egomaniac with an inferiority complex, every agency I’ve ever worked for is obsessed with their image. Including the one I’m at now. I guess since we create myths about our clients we’re sensitive about our own. Head in ass, we’re high on our own fumes and our shit doesn’t stink. Crazy.

Also stupid is how agencies try to “control the message.” Most run PR like it’s 1982, writing press releases about “brilliant, cutting edge” work, as if the trade press still wanted that. As if the trade press was even fucking relevant. Guys my age call everyone over 40 dinosaurs. Fuck age, I think a dinosaur is someone who holds on to old ideas, like press releases and message control. Like agencies that go on about how “digital” and “social” they are yet forbid employees to say anything online they wouldn’t tell their grandmas.

2 responses

  1. guest

    A new type of english might help….?

    12/19/2011 at 10:02 pm

  2. a healthy ego should never be painful or insulting to anyone. confidence is clear thinking. if you constantly have to remind people that you are in charge and that you are always right I can promise you that you will have very few friends in life including the friendship that you should be having with yourself. get over yourself or go home!!!!!!!!

    12/25/2013 at 5:21 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.